top of page
  • westmisgobizsu

9 Grain Cracked Cereal Recipes: How to Make a Delicious and Healthy Breakfast



9 grain cereal is a hearty meal with more potent flavor and texture than rolled oats or germade. It makes a great variety when added to your breads or a delicious breakfast dish cooked in a crock pot with honey added. 9 grain cereal contains a blend of cracked hard red wheat, soft white wheat, oat groats, hulled barley, corn, millet, flax, rye and hulled barley. This mix is excellent as a cooked cereal with the nutrition and balance of 9 grains. A great nutritional item to add to long term food storage or emergency essential stock. When added to bread recipes, it gives the bread a nutty, hearty texture. It can be ground in to flour and is healthy replacement for multi-grain breads and rolls that call for cracked wheat.




9 Grain Cracked Cereal Recipes



I hesitated at first to run it through my NutriMill Grain Mill, because of the serious admonition against using it to grind flax or other oily seeds. However, because the percentage of flax seed contained in the 9 grain cereal was so low, and because all whole grains contain small amounts of oil in the bran, I reasoned that it would probably be okay. My grain mill suffered no ill effects after grinding several cups of multigrain cracked cereal into flour.


Our 9 grain cracked cereal is a versatile product to have on hand and in your long term food storage. This lovely mixture of nine grains is cracked to make a lovely cereal. This cereal has a hearty texture to it. It is a great way to start your morning. Add a little bit of honey to it and you will have a nutritious start to your morning. This cracked grain can also be ground into a 9 grain flour. Use this in making your breads and rolls. This is a must have for your long term food storage!


Our 9 grain cracked cereal is a wonderful addition to your food storage. This very hearty mixture of different grains can be used to make a very heart warming cereal for your family in the mornings. This grain can also be used to make a hearty bread. You can change up your dinner roll recipe by using 9 grain flour. This is a must have for your long term food storage.


Hmm, I was buying 15 lb bags of 10 grain cereal for @ $12 at my local Cash & Carry a couple years ago. It was much finer grind than just cracked grain, so I gotta think it would be easier to consume for some. It was more the consistency of farina. Might make nutrients slightly easier to absorb due to finer grind. Also, should cook quicker.


Use a thermos. Boil a bit of water, add it to a thermos with the grain and close it up. I would make this at night with cracked wheat and by the morning I had a hot perfectly cooked bowl waiting for me.


My parents live in Lewistown, Montana, and they gave me a box of your 7-Grain cereal. WOW!! It is delicious!! It reminds me of the cracked wheat cereal that my dad would make for breakfast while I was growing up. Thank you for bringing back good memories and for a yummy breakfast!!


9 Grain Cracked Cereal is a lovely mixture of nine grains cracked to make a hearty delicious cereal. Add a little bit of honey or fruit to it and you will have a nutritious start to your morning. This cracked grain can also be ground into a 9 grain flour.


I want to make cracked wheat cereal. I have a small mill that I grind my flour for bread. I would like to know which setting I should use on my mill for cracked wheat cereal. The range is from one to five with #one producing the finest flour. Do I use #five for the most coarse for cracked wheat cereal or is this just a personal preference thing?


Hi KristiI have 2 questions..... can I use cracked rye berries instead of rye chops? Also about yeast.... I'm having a problem with the weight ( I prefer to weigh over measure). When weghing yeast 1 tsp doesn't weigh 4 grams. I've come across this with some other recipes as well. so do I use the 3 gm or measure the tsp? In order to get 3 gm it is MUCH more than 1 tspThank for this recipe, I will be making it the very moment I receive your reply and I am so anxious. I grew up eating this bread and I can wait!


Firstly, thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you for this amazing recipe. I have been on a quest for a few years to find the exact bread I was being served on our cruise in Norway. I incorrectly thought it was a Norwegian bread and finally after looking at your pictures thought maybe it was this danish rye bread. I finally made it yesterday and waited as mentioned an extra day to dig in. Oh my it was almost exactly like the one I had in Norway minus that brown cheese ( which I probably might take a 2nd trip to get use to). Next challenge will be to try the sour dough version.....but.....and here is the big "BUT" I am allergic to rice and after devouring my morning slice I found myself with my very violent coughing fits with the works. Bob Mills 7 grains has rice, I am looking into other brands as of now. Do you have any recommendations besides 7 grains cereal I could try ? I am also allergic to corn.


I didn't have a Pullman Pan and seriously thought about using my Dutch oven. I decided to go with the recommended two loaf pans with a cookie sheet on top instead. I was worried because the crust was super hard when I pulled it out of the oven - like you could club someone over the head hard! LOL! But I let it cool and then wrapped it loosely in aluminum foil for a day per your instructions. It was PERFECT!!! The crust softened but still retained a rustic quality. Also, I didn't have seven-grain hot cereal available so I picked up six-grain hot cereal in the bulk bin at my local store (Sprouts) and it still tasted exactly like the bread my husband and I had in the Faroe Islands. Thank you for this amazing recipe! - Will be investing in a Pullman Pan since I will definitely be making this again!


Like overnight oatmeal, this breakfast bulgur cereal can also be made in the crock pot. Grease the insides of a slow cooker with 1 tablespoon of butter. Add the bulgur wheat, along with the amount of water and salt indicated on the package (usually a 2 to 1 ratio, or 2 cups of water per 1 cup of grain). Cover and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours. Top with your favorite add-ins.


This is a recipe for probably the most famous type of bread in Denmark. Rye bread or Rugbrød as it is called in Danish, is a type of bread which is packed with different seeds, grains and cracked rye and is therefore a very healthy alternative to regular white bread.


My Swedish great grandma would go out early in the morning, catch fish, and make ryr bread all before the sun came up to start milking the cows! Hers ryebread was a much smoother, dense, but fluffy recipe without visible cracked grains. I believed she also used molasses. This recipe seems so similar but is very different in texture/color. Hers was a dark brown and felt more like ponds cake in your mouth. Any suggestions or alternatives to make it more like hers?


Hi Kim! I made the bread twice and it came out really good. My boyfriend's mom bought the ikea mix bread and I was looking to do something similar and it indeed was. I couldn't fined cracked rye kernels so I used spelt grains instead and it came out great. Thank you for this lovely recipe!


Hi,Thank you so much for this recipe. I am now able to make danish rye bread "down under". I haven't been able to find cracked rye but with the other seeds and grains we don't really miss it.


First of all thank you for a great blog, you have so. many nice recipes that I want to try. :)I just moved to the US and my kids misses their Rugbrød so much so I want to make my own.Can anyone recommend a place to buy the cracked rye kernels and cracked wheat in the US?


I live in Canada and have found that a common hot cereal mix called either Red River Cereal or Sunny Boy Cereal contains steel cut wheat,steel cut rye and whole and cracked flax as its only ingredients .It can be bought in the bulk section at several Canadian supermarkets as well.I have used this as part of the ingredients for my last 3 batches of your recipe and find it works very well.


I have been a home bread baker for over 30 years and having found your recipe, Rugbrod has become my standard loaf, much enjoyed by family and friends.Bread making is a "living process". Flours differ by season, some grains are not readily available but a little imagination and thoughful substitution permits splendid bread to be easily produced (eg pepitas and / or freka and / or steel cut or some rolled oats substituting for cracked rye kernels that I cannot find in Sydney, Australia) .The sour dough starter is amazingly patient. It bounces back to life when kept refrigerated, even after being neglected for a few weeks and with an acetone smell emerging from over-fermentation!Your ingredient measurements are fine. The Australian standard metric cup is 250ml and I use it as the basis of my preparation, substituting 250ml for 2dl. This regularly produces just under 3 kilograms of dough which I divide into 3 loaves. Extra loaves store well in the freezer for a few weeks.The bread is at its best thinly sliced. It also makes very good toast.Thank you Kim for sharing this recipe.


You might want to look in the grains section rather than the flour section. Millet is the whole grain, if you look super close at the picture you can see the little yellow balls. When you soak it, it gives a neat little crunch to the bread. Millet flour is the ground up millet, I use that in wheat-free baked goods for my wheat-allergic one. Cracked wheat is also a whole-type grain, basically crushed wheat berries, sometimes served as a hot cereal. Bulghur is similar, but is a quick-cooking version because it is pre-cooked and dried (Kind of like the difference between steel cut oats and rolled oats). I think both mine were made by Bob's Red Mill. If your store is fancy enough to have millet flour, they might have these others hiding near the rice or the hot cereal. 2ff7e9595c


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page